770-284-1319

Suwanee GA DUI / DWI Blog

Wednesday, August 15, 2018

In Focus: 2nd DUI Offense

What are the penalties for a second DUI conviction in Georgia?

Being arrested for a second DUI can be frightening. As a second offender, you face far more severe penalties and punishments than you did the first time around. Georgia prosecutors take second DUI offenses seriously and will seek to hold you accountable for your actions. Second offense DUIs could result in mandatory prison time, hash fines, and potentially suspension of your license for several years. Anyone facing a 2nd DUI conviction should contact our Atlanta DUI/DWI defense attorney for experienced legal assistance.

Penalties for a 2nd DUI

Many people who are arrested for a DUI for the second time are shocked to learn how much more serious the penalties may be. A second DUI is still a misdemeanor offense, but this offense is not taken lightly under Georgia law or by prosecuting attorneys. Your exact punishment will depend on how long ago you plead guilty or were convicted of a DUI, and the circumstances surrounding your current arrest.

Under Georgia law, if you are arrested for a DUI within ten years from your previous conviction, you will face a minimum of 72 hours in jail. You could face up to 12 months in prison plus $1,000 in fines. It is not uncommon for judges in Georgia to sentence repeat DUI offenders to between 10 and 90 days in jail. Additionally, your license will be suspended for at least one year. You will need to complete 30 days of community service, 12 months of probation, DUI school, and potentially a substance abuse program.

If your previous DUI conviction was within five years of your current arrest, punishments become even more severe. For repeat offenders within five years, you will be required to pay a fee to publish notice of your conviction, including a photograph. You will need to surrender your license place. Your license will be suspended for a minimum of 18 months, and you will not be allowed to seek a restricted permit for the first 120 days. Additionally, you will need to have an ignition interlock installed for a minimum of 12 months, at your expense.

Second DUI offenders will want to work with their attorney to mount a strong defense against the charge. Whereas some first time offenders are eager to plead guilty and move on from the ordeal, second time offenders understand the potentially extreme negative consequences of taking a quick plea. Protect your legal rights by securing a DUI defense attorney today.


Blog Categories

DUI

Archived Posts

2019
2018
2017


The Law Office of Carter Pilgrim Stroud is located in Suwanee, GA and serves Gwinnett County, Forsyth County, Cumming, Buford, Lawrenceville, Braselton, Alpharetta, Johns Creek, Duluth, Norcross, Hoschton, Jefferson, Commerce, Dawsonville, Gainesville, and other surrounding areas.



© 2019 Carter Pilgrim Stroud, Attorneys at Law
3725 Lawrenceville-Suwanee Rd., Suite A-4, Suwanee, GA 30024
| Phone: 770-284-1319

Service Areas | About Us | DUI Defense | Tests | Resources

FacebookGoogle+Linked-In CompanyYouTube

Law Firm Website Design by
Zola Creative


©  Carter Pilgrim Stroud, Attorneys at Law | Disclaimer
3725 Lawrenceville-Suwanee Rd., Suite A-4, Suwanee, GA 30024
| Phone: 770-284-1319

Experience | DUI | Hiring a Lawyer | Suspensions | Sobriety Tests | Breath/Blood Tests | Process

Law Firm Website Design by
Zola Creative