770-284-1319

Suwanee GA DUI / DWI Blog

Friday, July 6, 2018

Completing a DUI Education Course

What are the costs of a DUI education course?

A DUI comes with many potential consequences, including jail time, fees, public service, and mandatory completion of a DUI education or risk reduction course. The course can be time consuming and will come at your expense. Before your driver’s license can be reinstated, you will need to provide proof of completion of an approved DUI class. Our Atlanta DUI defense lawyers explore the basics of a DUI education class below and what other penalties you could face if convicted of a DUI.

DUI Classes in Georgia

Georgia law requires that anyone convicted of a DUI attend a Department of Driver Services (DDS) approved DUI school and successfully complete the course. Without evidence that you have completed this critical step, you will not be able to lawfully drive. There are several options when it comes to DUI courses, with some programs allowing for online access, while others will require your attendance in person.

DUI programs in the state will first require that you complete a DUI/Risk Reduction Assessment. The assessment involves 130 questions that probe your lifestyle. It will take about 30-40 minutes to complete and, per state law, it will cost $100.

With the assessment complete, you must now participate in a 20 hour DUI class. The cost of the class, again set by state law, is $260.00. You will need to pay the fee upfront before starting the course. You will need to research classes that fit your schedule. To complete the program, you must attend all sessions. You cannot be late or you could be disqualified from the program. Once you have attended all sessions, you will receive a DDS certificate.

Other Potential Penalties

In addition to completing the 20 hour DUI course, you could be ordered to undergo a treatment program if recommended by the evaluation. If you have a drug or alcohol problem, the court may require that you get help before your license can be unsuspended. Cost of treatment will be your burden. Given the tremendous consequences of a DUI, it is critical that you consult with a DUI defense attorney as soon as possible. Your attorney will take swift action to defend your legal rights.


Blog Categories

DUI

Archived Posts

2019
2018
2017


The Law Office of Carter Pilgrim Stroud is located in Suwanee, GA and serves Gwinnett County, Forsyth County, Cumming, Buford, Lawrenceville, Braselton, Alpharetta, Johns Creek, Duluth, Norcross, Hoschton, Jefferson, Commerce, Dawsonville, Gainesville, and other surrounding areas.



© 2019 Carter Pilgrim Stroud, Attorneys at Law
3725 Lawrenceville-Suwanee Rd., Suite A-4, Suwanee, GA 30024
| Phone: 770-284-1319

Service Areas | About Us | DUI Defense | Tests | Resources

FacebookGoogle+Linked-In CompanyYouTube

Law Firm Website Design by
Zola Creative


©  Carter Pilgrim Stroud, Attorneys at Law | Disclaimer
3725 Lawrenceville-Suwanee Rd., Suite A-4, Suwanee, GA 30024
| Phone: 770-284-1319

Experience | DUI | Hiring a Lawyer | Suspensions | Sobriety Tests | Breath/Blood Tests | Process

Law Firm Website Design by
Zola Creative